Visiting Researcher in Oxford

Last year I contacted Dr. Aris Katzourakis regarding his paper “The evolutionary dynamics of endogenous retroviruses” and my interest in developing new models to describe the evolution of these viruses in animal genomes.

He invited me to visit his lab in Oxford, UK, and this year I went there for a month. During this time I was able to analyse the simulated data I generated last year, which consisted of DNA sequences of full-length endogenous retroviruses (ERVs). I simulated 10,000 bases, which is the approximately size of an ERV genome.

The time in Oxford was very nice, I was able to interact with his students and discuss my analysis and results. Not to say that Oxford is a beautiful town, and although still cold for me, the weather was actually good considering I was in the UK.

Oxford, UK

I decided to stay in London during my time there. London is an amazing city, with a very efficient public transport. As I still don’t drive, I can say I was in heaven for a month! I visited some very interesting museums there which you can see some pictures below.

1. Grant Museum of Zoology

A small but very interesting museum. If you are a zoologist or just like animals you should check out this museum.

Grant Museum of Zoology2. The Natural History Museum

This is an amazing museum. It was my third time there, and I still haven’t seen everything. You should also check out this museum if you like animals and would like to know more about dinosaurs and fossils. My favorite part in this museum is the mammals and dinosaurs!

NHM3. The British Museum

Another amazing museum in London, and one of my favorites. My favorite part is the collection about Egypt and the mummies.

British MuseumBy doing research we can visit different parts of the world, learn about different cultures, and learn to interact with other students and researchers from different cultures and backgrounds.

1 thought on “Visiting Researcher in Oxford

Leave a comment